It’s been exactly 2 months since I started back to corporate life, and every day has brought an interesting mix of nostalgia and new lessons.

One of the most interesting phenomena I’ve encountered is “the question”… or at least that’s what I call it.

“So… how is it going?”

It’s often accompanied by an eyebrow raise or a slight raise of the shoulders, but no matter how it comes it always strikes me as funny.

My typical answer doesn’t change much.

“I’m good… lots to learn… settling in… too busy too really think about it… [etc.]”

And that’s when it usually gets extra funny…

“So… it’s going good then???”

At first this annoyed me a little, almost like they didn’t believe what I was saying, but I realized that maybe they were interpreting my lack of detail or passionate fervor for a “fake” response.

This was even more evident when I recently told a colleague (whom I had worked with in my prior stint) that “I like my job, I just don’t enjoy it.”  They made the face you’d expect from someone taking a sip of their OJ only to find it was replaced with grapefruit juice.

My point is this…  I like my job.  I’m pretty good at it.  The tasks are ones I feel comfortable with and confident I can deliver.  My coworkers are good to work with and generally are good at their jobs too.  These things are all good.

As a friend said, “No worries… I plan to show up tomorrow.”

That said, I enjoy spending time with family, exploring God’s creation in nature, tinkering and creating things, and travelling to places I’ve never been.  I enjoy good conversations, laughter, well-made movies, and good food.  And I enjoy attempting things that may not, should not, or plausibly couldn’t work without pushing the boundaries of comfort.  Things like building a vermicomposting sifter out of a Neptune washer (worked), starting a faith-based service organization (working), opening a coworking facility in a town of 10,000 (working), helping to build a windmill in Kenya (worked), or navigating a flat bottom boat down the drought-ridden Des Moines River for a COMPLETE STRANGER making a documentary (done did).

What I’m saying is I don’t need my job to be my life’s passion.  I can like what I’m doing there, do it well, and still want to go home at 5pm to do the things I enjoy.

I can be a tentmaker AND an evangelist, or a corporate trainer AND an entrepreneur.  And if someday God brings me an opportunity to both like what I’m doing AND enjoy it, you can probably bet I’ll be interested.

But until then…

“I’m good.”

line2

IF YOU LIKE WHAT YOU SEE, PLEASE CONSIDER ENCOURAGING ME BY:

  • LEAVING A COMMENT BELOW… I ALWAYS RESPOND!

  • BECOMING A REGULAR READER.

  • SHARE THE POSTS YOU LIKE ON FACEBOOK, TWITTER, LINKEDIN, OR ANYWHERE ELSE BY USING THE BUTTONS BELOW.

